Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 22, 2016
Lots to do and friendly staff. This is our third year staying here. Had a great time
Jul 22, 2016
I love this KOA! The staff are friendly and very on point with meeting the needs of the vacationeers. I would recommend this place for a family vaction!!
Jul 21, 2016
Very nice stay, improved Wi-Fi, better phone service, poor cable
Jul 21, 2016
People wasn't very helpful. I bought ice and didn't know where the ice machine was. I was talked to like I was stupid. One of the bathroom stall door stuck., was real hard to open. The change machine didn't work in the game room.
Jul 21, 2016
Please work on roads in campground & phone and wifi service. Great to have better TV service thanks
Jul 21, 2016
Two many dogs? Moving too many cabins out for too high priced cabins that is like home, can't get places you like to stay at because you can't move without (2) res.
Jul 21, 2016
Jul 20, 2016
Jul 20, 2016
I have been going to this KOA for about 20 years.We have camped at KOA all across the country.They are allways nice,but this one is our favorite
Jul 20, 2016
Deluxe cabin was very nice and enjoyed the location. However, internet service was terrible, but when on vacation should not have to use phone much. Had very little cell access. Office help is very nice, but need more help, lines long and I would suggest having a separate line for check in or check out questions from others buying items in the camp store.
Jul 20, 2016
Jul 20, 2016
Delightful weather in July. Cannot wait to return
Jul 20, 2016
the grand-dtrs LOVED the excitement of staying in large campground with kids everywhere!loved the indoor pool and no one got sunburned and they didn't have to get out when it rained (which was everyday-no lightening).loved being able to warm back up in hot tub.
Jul 19, 2016
This IA an annual trip for us. We were quite disappointed in the cleanliness of the facilities, in paticular the ladies bathroom and showers. Most of your staff was excellent however some have no business working around children.
Jul 19, 2016
Jul 19, 2016
Just a great place to stay
Jul 19, 2016
Cable TV very poor. No wi-fi. Staff great and facilities nice.
Jul 19, 2016
Great experience!
Jul 19, 2016
Enjoyed out short family vacation at Cherokee KOA. Very family oriented and the kids never get bored. We lived tubing down the river and the kids enjoyed the Dj/Dance party. Nice clean bath houses. Only thing that seems to be missing is some type of hanger or shelf for clothing in the showers. Everything gets wet.
Jul 19, 2016
WIFI almost non existent and cable wasn't working. Corporate made camping cost at 30% higher that competing RV Campgrounds.
Jul 19, 2016
This was the first tent camping trip for my 3 and 6 year old. KOA did a great job. Clean, friendly and fun! Keep up the great work! We will be back!
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
WE spent 4 nights there. Plenty to do for the whole family daily. its a very scenic area. will stay there again.
Jul 18, 2016
We stayed mid July. Tent sites are pure mud pits when it rains. We were on site 41, which had paved parking but some of the others near us were nasty. The bathhouse near these sights were updated, however the women's restroom/shower constantly smelled like urine.
Jul 18, 2016
Jill(KOA) mixed up our reservation #605530.000 called me said the site we had reserved was not available but she offered us a deluxe site w/ no extra chg. we DID NOT have a deluxe site as Jill had told me. KOA manager offered an apology & said Jill was mistaken about the site. The site we ended up w/ was very disappointing. Plus the bathhouse closest to the ponds had no water pressure for shower
Jul 18, 2016
We stayed in cabin 511. Everything was good except the VERY flimsy trash bags provided and the puny air conditioner was not up to the task, also the toilet did not flush properly. Staff was wonderful.
Jul 18, 2016
We really enjoyed our time at this KOA. It is a beautiful place with lots for our family to do. Our only disappointment was that some of the music played Saturday night was not family friendly. Even though we didn't attend the dance party, we could hear the music at our campsite.
Jul 18, 2016
awesome time with my 2 grandkids. the oldest who is 8 loved the waterslide. the last night there she wanted to see the movie but my grandson was in the cabin asleep. one of the koa girls (i think her name was kim) offered to let ciara (my 8 yr old granddaughter) stay and watch movie and walked her to the cabin when it was over. that was so sweet.
Jul 18, 2016
Non summershine staff needs to be friendlier, customer-focused, and all-in-all act like they appreciate my business. Campsite fire rings, grill portion is too high above the cement slab.
Jul 18, 2016
Nice campground, we go every year and the kids always have a blast
Jul 18, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay in one of your camping cabins. A nice quiet place. Lots of trees and places to fish.
Jul 18, 2016
We had a wonderful time! Great family vacation!
Jul 18, 2016
We were going to Cherokee for a one night stay to see the Unto These Hills Drama! We were tent camping with our three sons and left our two 4 legged babie at home. We wished we could've stayed longer to enjoy all the amenities! Our 8 & 9 year old loved the pool and the jump pad. Our oldest son (19) loved the Dj and the entertainment! We will definitely return with the whole family!
Jul 17, 2016
Jul 17, 2016
The campground is great but phone service lousy to non existent
Jul 17, 2016
Stayed here for about a week, alot to do. Pool is great. Will definitely stay again but will spend a bit more money for a double or bigger site.. the less expensive sites are really packed in like sardines but still enough room to move about.
Jul 17, 2016
This was our first time to camp at a KOA campground. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The campground, restrooms, store, pools and areas were all very clean.
Jul 17, 2016
Jul 17, 2016
Great place for the grandkids. Lots of activities for them. Downside is lack of phone service and very limited internet access
Jul 16, 2016
We love this campground. A bit more expensive than other KOA'S but it has a lot for kids to do. I only wish the phone and internet were better. If you need these services, this is not the place for you.
Jul 16, 2016
Great place too camp and enjoy the smokey's at your doorstep.
Jul 16, 2016
The new porch swing at our cabin is horrible. The last time I stayed in cabin 250, and I sat in that swing relaxing for most of the day. The new swing at cabin 249 is horrible and cheap. It has a bar running across the middle of your back. This may seem insignificant, but it definitely affected the relaxing part of my trip. Other than that we had a wonderful time. Great job
Jul 16, 2016
When we arrived we had to clean our site 51 limbs and trash everywhere. They allowed to many cars to park at cabins where it was hard for RVs to back in sites. They should have parking spots behind cabins. Old Ladies were not friendly at all. We have been camping there for 4 years. I don't think we will return. They need more supervision at the outdoor pool.
Jul 16, 2016
Very nice.
Jul 16, 2016
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Campground was well kept & clean. Great place for families & kids of all ages!
Jul 16, 2016
Our stay was wonderful. We rented four premium single cabins for a family of twelve. The adults and the children all enjoyed themselves. We have made multiple visits to your campground over the years and have always had fun. Started coming when our children were little and now coming back with our adult children and our grandkids. Always have a great time. Definitely will be returning.
Jul 16, 2016
A great family get away. Plan to stay again next year.
Jul 16, 2016
We loved the relaxed atmosphere and the cleanliness of the campgrounds at KOA Cherokee NC.
Jul 16, 2016
Great things to do there.
Jul 16, 2016
Our family always enjoys our atay at the KOA in Cherokee. In the summer it is tubing down the river where it is so convenient to get a ride up the mountain! It's the shopping in town and the quiet of the Campground that we enjoy! Our next stay will be Halloween! We tried that last year and truly had a blast!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award