Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 21, 2016
Very nice KOA
Aug 21, 2016
Beautiful campground, clean facilities. Super friendly staff. Only 2 things that did not like, we were squeezed into a tiny hookup between a cabin and a large RV when there were other riveside hookups that were much quieter and empty. The second thing is the fact that there are long term campers there made it look like a trailor park and not a campground in some areas.
Aug 20, 2016
Very nice campground, well kept and all staff members were courteous and very helpful. However, KOA as a corporation should seriously consider making their properties smoke free. My wife and I could not sit outside halfway through our stay because the neighboring campsite was occupied by several smokers. The whole concept of enjoying the outdoors ruined by the constant cloud of cigarette smoke.
Aug 19, 2016
Aug 19, 2016
like the improvements at Cherokee. front pull through camper sights need to redone and leveled. awesome stay
Aug 18, 2016
Aug 18, 2016
Aug 18, 2016
Great, loved it.
Aug 18, 2016
Always a great time.
Aug 18, 2016
Everyone that worked there was super nice!
Aug 17, 2016
bathrooms have needed to be worked on for 10 years
Aug 17, 2016
The surrounding area was beautiful with everything in Cherokee nearby KOA to include the other great city, Bryson City to tour.
Aug 17, 2016
Everything was great!
Aug 17, 2016
Had a great time.Clean,friendly people,loved the recreation.Enjoyed the rest,and the trees.Felt very peaceful.
Aug 17, 2016
We had a great stay and can't wait to do it again
Aug 17, 2016
Had a great time, thanks for the hospitality!
Aug 16, 2016
Other than the sub-par friendship bracelet activity that had no instruction or organization, it was a great stay. Also, the shower in our cabin cycled hot, warm, cold and the shower drain needs snaking. Other than that, we love this campground! People are so friendly & helpful and the grounds are well kept. We've already booked a return visit!
Aug 16, 2016
Fantastic!!! But they should have told us they were not stocking the ponds before that took my money for a 3 day fishing license!!!
Aug 16, 2016
When we reserved we asked if the site had running water we were told yes but when we got there the site did not have running water other than that it was a great experience. Running water would have got you a 5 star review
Aug 16, 2016
Aug 16, 2016
Great family FUN!
Aug 16, 2016
We came to fish and tube they could have let us know they was not stocking did since July and we wouldn't have wasted $300 because this is why we came for our kids to fish
Aug 16, 2016
Aug 15, 2016
We had a nice spot next to the river/stream. Very nice indoor & outdoor pool. Nice pizzas at the grill.
Aug 15, 2016
It was a wonderful, clean, safe, family oriented campground with lots of amenities. We loved our stay and are looking forward to making it an annual trip. Thanks KOA!!!!
Aug 15, 2016
Our deluxe cabin with loft was very clean and had all amenities we could want. Glamping at its best! (I did bring a foam mattress topper which was well worth it because the bed was firm.) Employees were very friendly and efficient. Hadn't been back in 15 years but won't wait long to come back again.
Aug 15, 2016
We had fun and there are lots of activities. Thank you for being helpful.
Aug 15, 2016
My son wanted to camp for his 6th birthday. None of us had camped for nearly 20 years so we felt like this would be a great way to ease into it. All of us had a great time and Jamie had a very special birthday.
Aug 15, 2016
Great location well maintained will stay again
Aug 15, 2016
Great place for families and especially for children.
Aug 15, 2016
Aug 15, 2016
- Price toooo HIGH - Lady at Desk very rude to previous customer , made me wait 15 minutes, then another lady stepped up. Placed me a flooded site, when there were at least 6 other nice sites around me open all weekend. Had major water leak on my water input, ATtendant finally placed a KOA hose to next open site after flooding my spot. DID not get what I paid for. Note: extra tie dye shirts nic
Aug 15, 2016
Only drawback was some of the activities weren't well planned. Marshmallow roast was from 7-9pm, but when we arrived at 7:25pm our child was told that they ran out of marshmallows and it was first come, first serve. Also, arrived for the popsicle social on time, and waited and waited...no popsicles at all. Children were disappointed again. The amenities are awesome though.
Aug 15, 2016
Great sites, staff is very friendly.
Aug 15, 2016
Aug 15, 2016
Campground activities and pools were very nice and clean. My kids had a blast. RV septic was clogged and it to an hour and a half to dump gray water but maintenance staff was available at my request to help with this issue.
Aug 15, 2016
Friendly staff. I wish the pool and hot tub were open later and open earlier in the morning.
Aug 14, 2016
As usual we had a great time. The bathhouse needs to be cleaned more often.
Aug 14, 2016
Very disappointed in the maintenance of the grounds. Some guy Mike dug up the lawns mowing in circles. However restrooms were much improved. We have been enjoying your Cherokee for years!
Aug 14, 2016
We stayed with 2 small kids and fellt very welcome. The team was friendly and helpfull. Donnie gave us good ideas about things to do with the kids. The taxi-service to the Outdoor Drama was perfect too! We had a spot for our RV at the river which was beautifull and had shade. The perfect family KOA!! Thanks to the team.
Aug 14, 2016
That was the most relaxed I have been ever!! Wonderful place
Aug 14, 2016
Wonderful stay in the South Great Smokey Mountains National Park. The only minor problem was the internet connection. It was not always available from site 5 which was directly across from the main office.
Aug 14, 2016
Aug 13, 2016
This is one of our favorite campgrounds. Nice bath houses and great amenities for the kids with the pool, tubing, bouncy pad, etc.
Aug 13, 2016
My family and I love this place. I would not camp anywhere else but here.. there is so much to do for the kids and the safety of our kids. This place tries there very best to accommodate there customers.
Aug 13, 2016
Great service, wonderful staff and so much for the kids to do. Thank you!!
Aug 13, 2016
Nice stay. A little disappointed on the yard. Huge clumps of grass everywhere. Couldn't keep grass out of my camper after walking my dog. Need better clean up.
Aug 13, 2016
Aug 12, 2016
Construction going on at the sight right next to mine, so me and my wife had to listen to drilling and sawing on our visit. Additionally, there was a pump that would turn on and off all night. Don't tent site camp here!
Aug 12, 2016
Saturday night there was a dance party that shook our camper and kept our baby up past 10:30. When asked to turn down the music we were ignored by the staff. Went for some rest and relaxation, and instaed stayed up with a crying baby. Lots of amenities at the camp, great place for older kids. But a very immature staff in the summer with little concern for my family.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award