Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 02, 2015
Lovely location and our Kabin was right next to the river. Friendly staff. Recommend the breakfast pizza!
Jul 02, 2015
Beau camping. Deux belles piscines, bon service. Séjour agréable.
Jul 02, 2015
We loved the staff and enjoyed our stay very much ! This was our first time and we will definitely be back :-)
Jul 01, 2015
Kids had a blast! So glad we made this our family vacation. Will be doing it again!!
Jul 01, 2015
Kids love it as well as we do awesome staff thanks to Miles and Terri for treating us like family
Jul 01, 2015
Great place, kids loved it, and we will come back again. Hopefully WiFi access will improve soon.
Jul 01, 2015
Always fun to visit. Has friendly staff and always clean. Wifi has not worked last three visits. Our space was considered a deluxe spot yet not wide enough to extend awning and have a campfire....somewhat disappointed.
Jul 01, 2015
There was no picnic table and no porch light
Jul 01, 2015
Jun 30, 2015
We took our vacation with 2 other families and had a blast! This is the first time we have taken a vacation with friends. We make the trip to our Cherokee KOA at least once a year usually twice and always have fun. We will definitely be back with our friends again.
Jun 30, 2015
I had few complaints except that our site was mostly red clay. The grass was missing in a large section of the middle of the site. We were tent camping and it was rainy so this was a real problem. I did not see any other sites that were this bad (missing grass). There were available sites so I feel that this site should not have been used. Bad first impression.
Jun 30, 2015
This camper comment has been removed by KOA because it contained inappropriate content.
Jun 30, 2015
Our favorite campground in the Smokies.We started in the late 70's, early 80's and continue to come. The new management has a good handle on how to run a campground and continues to make improvements every year. We are "young" seniors and come up in the Spring and Fall. Great place for families and seniors of all ages.
Jun 30, 2015
Sites are small, desk people at the recreation center seemed rude/annoyed when I wanted to book a rafting trip. overall good experience.
Jun 30, 2015
We had a great time, planning on coming back with the family very very soon.
Jun 29, 2015
Love the campground, the only issue we had was the indoor pool had a slimy feeling to it.
Jun 29, 2015
Look forward to returning
Jun 29, 2015
Absolutely awesome camping trip! Our boys, 7 and 9, were on could nine the whole time with the activities. Will never stay anywhere else when visiting Cherokee.
Jun 29, 2015
Had wonderful time, cabin had everything . was very clean, staff was all very helpful and friendly. park was very well maintained and peaceful..Great time /wonderful stay we will be back again..
Jun 29, 2015
This is the 2nd year we have stayed at the Cherokee NC KOA. We really enjoyed it and will probably make it a yearly trip. We just have one suggestion and that would be to have benches or something to put your stuff on while taking a shower in the main bath houses. (not just hooks) Other than that the staff was very friendly and helpful and attentive.
Jun 29, 2015
Well we loved it! Everything from the banana bikes to our cabin only one huge complaint is not enough bathrooms for the amount of people there. Someone even pooped in shower! So only wish u had more bathrooms /toilets for busy weekends.
Jun 29, 2015
only complaint is the bathrooms and showers were not very clean.
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 29, 2015
we had a wonderful time , excellent staff, well maintained park, bathrooms were very clean.. great stay,, we will be back next year ..
Jun 29, 2015
Awesome campground!
Jun 29, 2015
Internet does not work period never has! Fishing ponds were being drained would have been nice to know that before buying license in KOA store we keep going back but could be great with some changes
Jun 29, 2015
Water was a little too low for tubing and the trout ponds were not stocked for fishing. The only real disappointment was the bath house nearest or site was trashed twice by somebody; no fault of the campground and was cleaned immediately upon notification.
Jun 29, 2015
We always enjoy our stay at the Cherokee KOA. This weekend was great. Lots of activites for the kids, music at night, the pools are great.
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 29, 2015
Best KOA I ever stayed at.
Jun 29, 2015
A lady named Jo Ann. A Brunette middle age. Almost ruined my visit. First let me say this is one of our favorite Koa. We join about 15 campers there around thanksgiving for a reuion of a family who can't bear having regular this giving due to tragic death. Jo Ann yelled at me to get my dog out unless it was a service dog. She needs lessons on how not to embarrass her guest and correct them kindl
Jun 28, 2015
We had a great time. There were plenty of fun things for the kids to do at the campground. This campground is close to a lot of area attractions that are fun for the whole family. Tubing and fishing in the river were a lot of fun. This was our second consecutive year camping here and we will be back.
Jun 28, 2015
A great family place to stay. The kids loved the pool and the bouncy trampoline. Great area attractions included Cherokee drama, reservation, and museum.
Jun 28, 2015
Great camp ground. A little expensive compared to others & no cell phone service makes it somewhat inconvenient.
Jun 28, 2015
Very friendly staff. Always there to help if needed. All venues were clean and in working order. Will probably visit again next year.
Jun 28, 2015
I had a wonderful time. I appreciated the activités and amenities. However, I was in a tent and I dearly lacked a sink to do my washing up : hot water to clean my dishes. The laudry sink wasn't working. Also, I was disappointed with the lack of recycling bins for cardboard and glass.We need to do everything we can to protect places like the Smoky Mountains from pollution.Thank you.
Jun 28, 2015
Campground was well kept & there was tons to do for the kids. All KOA employees were very friendly & helpful. We stayed in a 1 room cabin. Would have preferred an AC over the TV, but had a nice stay. Wish we would have known the county was dry too!
Jun 27, 2015
My family and I really enjoyed our stay. Thank you koa staff keep up the good work. See ya'll next time
Jun 27, 2015
It was fantastic...Will be back next year.
Jun 27, 2015
Jun 27, 2015
We had an amazing time. Our cabin by the river was the perfect atmosphere to wake up to and start our day. They have shuttle tubing on the property. The kids loved it so much we went a second time. Careful, the lady in tours can be downright invasive if you want to bring a child under 7. We brought our 4 and 6 year old and they had a blast. We just tied their tube to each one of us.
Jun 27, 2015
I picked site close to pool big mistake very noisy. Renting banana bike was a bust.They keep air pressure low for some reason they think it will save tire ware. OK for a lite weight but for a 200 lb man its makes for a hard ride.
Jun 27, 2015
Sites too crowded Nice updated baths Wifi didn't barely worked Too pricey
Jun 27, 2015
Very friendly staff. Lots of activities on site and nearby. Cell phone service is not available but the wifi is fast for email and text.
Jun 26, 2015
We come down every year for a "guys" fishing trip. We love it but every year there is little water pressure in the showers and this year the men's bathroom went two days without hand soap. But we will still see you next year
Jun 26, 2015
No internet, poor poor cable TV, Way over priced. Will not stay their again !
Jun 26, 2015
The wifi sucks but we keep coming back. It's called camping.. better wifi gets you 5-stars.
Jun 26, 2015
Lots of activities for kids. Worth the price if you use many of the activities.
Jun 26, 2015
Just too expensive!
Jun 26, 2015
I have been coming to koa Cherokee for 10 years or so, it has changed a little bit. The atmosphere is a bit different and the staff surely not as friendly, with exception of a few. Tammy and Mack were great! Tammy checked with us on several occasions. Mr. Mack let me use a ladder. Caroline? Light red hair at the desk was very rude to me on two separate occasions, sarcastic, and laughed at me once.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.