Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Oct 18, 2014
I enjoyed staying at this KOA, but it needs to do some upkeep work to the deluxe cabin we stayed it. The floors need a really good cleaning. There is dirt and gum in the corners, and the flooring has really discolored badly. The curtain at the door fell down and needs to be remounted correctly. Also, It is time for a new couch. The one in the cabin is worn, old and ripped in places.
Oct 18, 2014
We had a lovely site (pull through). The people running this KOA are helpful and very friendly. My only disappointment is the lack of Wifi availability most days that we were there. I drove to the clubhouse/office several times to manage some business but it was not ideal. I sure wish the the Cherokee Nation would put up another cell tower for AT&T subscribers...no cell service at all!
Oct 18, 2014
Wonderful campground - just a bit pricey for off-season! Especially liked your Doggie Island!
Oct 18, 2014
Our cabin was perfect of a little getaway for newlyweds, but by the second night we had loud drunk adults next to us. Our last night there they were so drunk and loud we heard them talking about hitting each other and it not going to hurt. Our sweet little getaway was kinda ruined.
Oct 17, 2014
Just one problem! A storm came the day we were suppose to leave. A tree fell on our camper at site 130 so why did we have to pay $70.00 for one night because of the weather? I would think there should be a discount when we couldn't leave after staying a whole month!
Oct 17, 2014
We had a wonderful stay. Wish all KOA's were as nice as Cherokee KOA.
Oct 17, 2014
Oct 16, 2014
Lots for children to do. They expanded tremendously since last stay years ago. They are overcrowded now with so many cabins. Camping cabin we stayed in was VERY musty/mildewy. Half of cabins were vacant but not clean. Could not give us another. Did have cleaning come and mop with febreeze. Attempt at shower one time-no hot water. No help from staff when asked. Pool/hot tub perfect temp.
Oct 15, 2014
We usually take our camper, but this time we decided to stay in their cabins - they were very nice and clean. As always the entire campground was well kept and the staff friendly.
Oct 15, 2014
Oct 15, 2014
This KOA has so many things for everyone to do! You don't even have to leave to eat - they have their own little eatery and store :-)
Oct 15, 2014
Oct 15, 2014
Oct 15, 2014
It was great! Enjoyed every minute of it, even in the rain!
Oct 15, 2014
Oct 15, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
We had a wonderful time! The fishing tournament was fun and so glad you contained it to just the ponds. A women's category should be added and the raffle tickets and drawing for items from your store and donations from the community were missed! Jill, her husband, and Carolyn were very nice and helpful! We were told the entire campground was booked-not true. We'll be back soon & have a great day!
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
Nice KOA. Despite the rain it was still fun and we will return when in that area again. Only drawback was no cell service [AT&T] and their WIFI was terrible. Forgot my coax for the TV too. But it was kinda nice detoxing from the electronics for 4 days.
Oct 14, 2014
This was mine and my husband's second visit to Cherokee KOA. This time we brought some family and friends with us. We camped on one of the super sites. We all had a great time! Already planning another visit.
Oct 14, 2014
The only reason I booked with the Kampground is that my husband wanted to stay in a cabin. It was clean, but the frig leaked and there were some ants. I thought the price was too high, but I knew this coming in.
Oct 14, 2014
My husband JW and myself really enjoyed very much and that cabin where we stayed were so cozy and neat and comfortable and that site of KOA is so perfectly place to go and stay beside good for the kids and I personally will want to bring our grandchildren with us one day soon...Thank you so much for allowing us stayed there and enjoyed our time during the fall and colorful season:)!
Oct 14, 2014
2nd year family spent the weekend in October at this KOA & it is perfect & family friendly
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
Beautiful place. Want to go back. However, showers could be rechecked and fixed. Cabin had an odor. But overall great stay.
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
This was one of the nicest campgrounds I have stayed at. The only thing that would have been better is if the hot tub would have worked
Oct 14, 2014
Really enjoyed our stay. Beautiful campground very clean and quiet. Loved the outdoor shower stalls. Close to everything but yet felt like you were a million miles away! Loved it!!! Will be back 😊
Oct 14, 2014
I have camped at the Cherokee KOA several times and always have found it to be 5Star. This was the first time I rented a cottage for my Daughter and Grandsons...they will definitely want to come again and stay longer..see you in the Spring!
Oct 14, 2014
Sin palabras muy bueno el campamento.
Oct 14, 2014
Very muddy around the sites needs more concrete
Oct 13, 2014
I love the site I was on, But I choose this site because most of the sites in this park when it rains are the pits. Too many puddles. Game Room is mostly locked and has dated Games or not in working order. Amenities tells you there is WIFI. It's the pits!!! And Halloween Activities should be the whole month like the Yogi Parks do then just one weekend.
Oct 13, 2014
Been to this KOA several times. The rain was not my best friend, my daughter had an asthma attack and my friend locked his keys in his camper but we will definitely be back!
Oct 13, 2014
Oct 13, 2014
We had great stay with you all and will be back year with some friends of ours and made some new friends this year too and enjoy the fishing rodeo.
Oct 13, 2014
I've stayed at a lot of KOAs and this was by far the worst ever! Rude and unhelpful front desk staff, site was flooded and muddy and after 10 minutes there was no hot water in the shower.
Oct 13, 2014
This was our third stay. The staff was very accommodating. Only complaint was the campers beside us brought their large flat screen TV and BLASTED it all day and into the night. Finally at 11:00 pm we asked them to turn it down, which they did. Only to blast in first thing in the morning. Nothing like going back to nature.
Oct 13, 2014
We have been coming here for over 5 years and find it very family friendly!
Oct 13, 2014
We always enjoy our stay because our grandchildren can ride bikes and swim
Oct 13, 2014
Staff was friendly and helpful. We had a car problem and staff went above and beyond to help us. Campsites were clean and cozy. We look forward to a trip back during the summer months!
Oct 13, 2014
We really enjoyed the campground. Very quite and in good condition. The showers were kinda small with little or no seating , outside of that, it was great. This was our first camping trip to Cherokee and if possible we will be back at the KOA.
Oct 13, 2014
If your not staying in one of the riverside sites things are pretty run down.
Oct 12, 2014
Bed was terribly uncomfortable - sunken in the middle. dishes were dirty. The shower drain was blocked. I don't consider the tiny bathroom sink as a sink in which to wash dishes. All in all a nice facility collectively speaking. I would return using a larger full facility unit.
Oct 12, 2014
Oct 12, 2014
cabins are to high cost wise,guests should not be required to carry thier own trash to the dumpster .food is too high and disabled people have little to do there.will not be back!also i had to ask for towels daily.
Oct 12, 2014
The ONLY negative!!!- Some very large dogs on vacation allowed to crap wherever they chose to. Pet owners should be fined if caught not picking up after them.
Oct 12, 2014
As usual a great stay. Over the years as we have gotten larger campers we like that you have plenty of spaces big enough, but turns are too tight making getting in the sites difficult. This past stay we had to back out of our supposed pull through. Trees, shrubs, etc. should be trimmed, cut back or removed to allow for appropriate access to sites for 40+ foot campers.
Oct 12, 2014
Great campground! Lots to do. Excellent Fishing. Bounce toy too noisy to camp near.
Oct 12, 2014
Very friendly staff, clean restrooms, large pull thrus for big rigs. We stayed there before and will definitely return.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.